Black lives matter to Chicago Lights. 

Our mission is to build brighter futures for Chicago’s youth and adults through supportive relationships and life-changing programs.

We do this by providing creative youth development and social services that help people build the skills they need to transcend the challenges of poverty and lead fulfilling lives.

Chicago Lights believes every person should have access to the resources they need to overcome economic and social barriers and achieve their ambitions.

Our History

Chicago Lights is the nonprofit at Fourth Presbyterian Church. Our programs grew from the church’s commitment to social justice and compassionate service, beginning with the founding of the Tutoring program in 1964.

The Presbyterian denomination maintains a legacy of establishing colleges and universities and standing with people often disinherited by society.

In 1964, Fourth Presbyterian Church partnered with residents in the former Cabrini-Green neighborhood to provide tutoring to students. The commitment to education and literacy expanded and in 1991 gave rise to a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, which in 2004 was renamed Chicago Lights.

Fourth Presbyterian Church continues to be a vital source of funding and support for Chicago Lights, including providing forty percent of our volunteers and covering a majority of our overhead costs. Because of this partnership, our team of professional staff and over 1,000 dedicated volunteers can continue to build brighter futures for youth and adults who need it most.

Since the inception of Tutoring in 1964, Chicago Lights has served more than 50,000 people. Today, we annually serve more than 4,000 individuals living in under-resourced neighborhoods through mentoring, supportive services, academic enrichment, career development, and arts education.

Our Impact
Tutoring
440
Students are paired one-to-one with caring volunteer mentors, who meet weekly for 1.5 hours to foster students’ academic and personal growth.
100%
Of our high school students enrolled in our Career Development program successfully completed their summer internships and engaged in important on-the-job learning and resume-building skills.
93%
Of our seniors graduated from high school, (The average graduation rate at Chicago Public Schools hovers at 76%.)
Summer Day
125
Students stay engaged each summer through six weeks of academic, arts, and enrichment programming.
94%
Of our students improved or maintained their language arts skills.
96%
Of our students improved or maintained their math skills.
Urban Farm
300
People engage annually with our Urban Farm through educational and economic opportunities, hands-on learning experiences, and access to fresh, local, and sustainably grown produce.
25
Unique high school students and three young adults with barriers to employment participate in our workforce development program, where they not only learn about urban farming but also resume writing, interviewing techniques, customer service skills, and more.
5,100
Pounds of produce were grown and distributed through Community-Supported Agriculture (CSA), the Farmstand, and the church market.
Dance Academy
1,500
More than 1,500 students receive dance instruction at our 5 partner schools to support their academic and personal growth.
30
Students were enrolled in the four-week Summer Dance Intensive, which enhances technique and increases self-esteem and strength.
Social Services
1,800
More than 1,800 adults receive supportive services each year.
184
People living on the streets received supplies and resources through our Street Outreach program.
67
Unique individuals were assigned to a permanent case manager.
Staff

Stacy Jackson

Executive Director

312.981.3562

sjackson@chicagolights.org

Alex Cornwell

Executive Programs Director

312.981.3565

acornwell@chicagolights.org

Laura Woods

Associate Director of Development

312.981.3564

lwoods@chicagolights.org

Kris Adamik

Communications Manager

312.981.3596

kadamik@chicagolights.org

Joi Brooks

Foundation Relations Officer

312.981.3563

jbrooks@chicagolights.org

Devon Stewart

Development Coordinator

312.981.3390

dstewart@chicagolights.org

Patty Mendez

Director, Dance Academy

312.981.3561

pmendez@chicagolights.org

Annie Snow

Program Manager, Dance Academy

312.981.3392

asnow@chicagolights.org

Jackie Lorens Harris

Director, Social Service Center

312.981.3569

jlorens@chicagolights.org

Theresa Thornburg

Associate Director of Clinical Services, Social Service Center

312.274.3826

tthornburg@chicagolights.org

RaShonn Roberts

Stable Housing Case Manager, Social Service Center

312.274.3810

rroberts@chicagolights.org

Jill Keiser

Community Partner Manager, Social Service Center

312.981.3590

jkeiser@chicagolights.org

Patty Sokolow

Program Services and Volunteer
Manager, Social Service Center

312.981.3388

psokolow@chicagolights.org

Sarah Berlyn

Street Outreach Coordinator, Social Service Center

312.981.3567

sberlyn@chicagolights.org

Fernie Tiflis

Director, Tutoring and Summer Day

312.981.3381

ftiflis@chicagolights.org

Mark Dennison

Program Coordinator, Tutoring and
Summer Day

312.274.3828

mdennison@chicagolights.org

Shatoya Harper

Youth Programs Manager, Tutoring
and Summer Day

312.981.3384

sharper@chicagolights.org

Armedia Houston

Education and Enrichment Manager, Tutoring and Summer Day

312.981.3560

ahouston@chicagolights.org

Jonita Johnson

Youth Programs Coordinator, Tutoring and Summer Day

312.274.3800

jjohnson@chicagolights.org

Deja Stout

Program Manager, Urban Farm

312.252.3559

dstout@chicagolights.org

Malcolm Patterson

Head Grower and Workforce Programs Educator, Urban Farm

312.252.3566

mpatterson@chicagolights.org

Our Board of Directors

Chad A. Tischer

President
DiMeo Schneider & Associates, L.L.C.

Elinor Hite

Vice President
HR Consultant/Executive Coach

Andrea Person

Vice President
Publicis Re:Sources

Amy M. Gulinson

Secretary
Aon

Nicholas VanDerSchie

Treasurer
Morningstar Investment Management, LLC

Cindy Hull

Assistant Treasurer
Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Kathryn Bates

Bates Development Services

Norma Borcherding

JPMorgan Chase Bank

Joseph Feldman
Feldman Associates
Amanda Felt
University of Chicago Booth School of Business / The Center for Advanced Emotional Intelligence
Lafayette Kyle Ford
Merrill Lynch
Cynthia Joho
Community Volunteer
Shannon Kershner
Fourth Presbyterian Church
Naresh Koka
Valorem Reply
John Marr
The Higher Learning Commission
Andrew McGaan
Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Bill Patterson

Swanson, Martin & Bell, LLP

Beth Truett
BJT Solutions
Georgia Tsagalis
JPMorgan Chase Bank
Joseph E Tyler III
Bank of America N.A.
Ken Walker
JPMorgan Chase Bank